#Navratri – #Durga Navami #isheeria (1)


Welcome to the #NavratriHoppers Party Train – We are a group of Bloggers celebrating Navratri together – Come join us on our blogs and on instagram and twitter as we gear up for the Festival and celebrate all nine days of Navratri!

I would like to thank Firdaus for an interesting article about Pre-Navratri Care which you can check out here. You can also find her on Facebook,  Instagram and Twitter.


Join #NavratriHoppers as Team #isheeria celebrates #Navratri #Durga Navami on #blog #instagram Click To Tweet


PART 1 – Navratri – Durga Navami


Navratri is the festival invoking and celebrating the blessings of the Goddess ‘Shakti’ – The power of the Goddess is all-pervading, all powerful and believed to be able to remove even the most obstinate, difficult problems.

The significance of Navratri is much more than just worshiping the nine forms of Goddess Parvati, Goddess Lakshmi and Goddess Saraswati and the symbolism of Victory over Evil.

It is the time of the change in the seasons, which are dependent on the direction of the Sun’s movement.

According to Astrology, the Sun undergoes two major movements in a year – 

One, where the Sun appears to move southward of the Equator. The intensity of the Sun is not harsh and there is moisture in the environment. This signifies the onset of Winter.

The second, when the Sun appears to move northward, and the Sun’s rays are intense and the weather is dry.This signifies the onset of Summer.

At this time, the two seasons combine, and the Human body becomes more prone to illnesses and diseases as there is less resistance both physically and mentally. 

During this transition, we take special & specific food and remedial measures to help ease the transition of the seasons on our bodies.


It is also the period when the different forms of the Goddesses are worshipped on each of the nine days of Navratri to protect the individual from possible problems (possibly indicated in their horoscope) (more on this in Part 2 in this Festival Series).

Each night of Navratri is in honor of a different form of the Goddess – Each one has a unique energy which can be used to focus on specific life issues (more on this in Part 3)

Each of the Nine Goddess Forms have a significance, and a deeper philosophy that they manifest (more on this in Part 4).



During the 9 days of Navratri – Durga Navmi – the Power of the Goddess, the power of the Divine Feminie is celebrated as the light of the moon grows brighter.

The first three days of Navratri are dedicated to Goddess Parvati – The Remover of Obstacles

The next three days are dedicated to the Goddess Lakshmi (Laxmi) – The bestower of earthly comforts.

The last three days to the Goddess Saraswati – The bestower of knowledge.


We will be continuing this series – Tune in to read-

Part 2 about the Form of THE GODDESS to be worshiped on each day of Navratri and their associations.

Part 3 about the 9 forms of THE GODDESS and her unique energies

Part 4 about the 9 forms of THE GODDESS & a deeper look at the philosophy of the Goddess, and perhaps a story or two.

Subscribe to the Blog to receive the posts first.


You can read about the Chaitra Navratra and other Festivals here.


navratrihoppers Navratri blog loop

I am happy to introduce you to Amreen, A #NavratriHoppers & Versatile Blogger. 

You can read her take on Navratri on her blog here, and follow her on Instagram and Twitter

Update: Team Isheeria is taking inspiration from Amreen’s Post for this Navratri – keep an eye on our Instagram stream to see the results! 


Blessed Be!

Team Isheeria


61 Responses

  1. joshitajj

    September 14, 2017 12:52 pm

    This is a very informative post. I enjoyed reading it. You’ve described the details so well. Awaiting to read other posts too…

  2. Vasantha Vivek

    September 15, 2017 12:32 pm

    This is an awesome blog train. i love festivals, prayers and celebrations always. Your post made me to look forward for Navarathri Pooja. Wonderful post, indeed. happy to connect with you for #MyFriendAlexa !!!

  3. Geethica

    September 15, 2017 6:39 pm

    I fast regularly during Navratras and there is sort of attachment made with all the Goddesses during the years. I am one step ahead after I read about the moon movements along with Navratras. I am eager to read all other posts.

  4. uk8971

    September 15, 2017 6:57 pm

    I am sure many of us do not know about Navratri’s beyond Garba and Dandiya. This post comes at the right time explaining the significance of each day. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  5. Vinay Leo R.

    September 15, 2017 8:45 pm

    I knew part of it, but not all of it. 🙂 Didn’t know that the 9 days were divided between the three Goddesses. Hope to come read the rest of your series to know even more. Life has been hectic lately.

  6. Vaishali Gandhi (@vaishali178)

    September 16, 2017 12:17 am

    Every time I visit your blog, there’s something so new and fantastic to learn. There is always a co-relation between our festivals, seasons and diet. So scientific, if we but pay deep attention to these facts. I look forward to knowing more about Navratri through your blog.
    Good luck Ishieta and happy blogging!

  7. Shalzzz

    September 16, 2017 9:53 pm

    Thanks for this great information. I am definitely looking forward to your Navratri posts! Good luck with #NavratriHoppers
    Kohl Eyed Me
    Something’s Cooking


We LOVE to hear from you..Leave us a Message